Liberty Arts Commission

The Liberty Arts Commission is the arts advocacy agency for the City of Liberty. We serve as a catalyst - to support, sustain, and strengthen our community by increasing awareness, opportunities, and public involvement in local arts and cultural activities.


The Liberty Arts Commission meets on the second Thursday each month at 6 p.m. at City Hall, 101 E Kansas. The meetings are open to all, and public participation is encouraged.


  • Katie McDonald, Chair (Term expires 5/15/2026) 
  • Anna Knackstedt, Vice-chair (Term expires 5/15/2024) 
  • Kelley Wrenn Pozel, Council Liaison
  • Bill Stilfield (Term expires 5/15/2026) 
  • Shane Immelt (Term expires 5/15/2026) 
  • Molly Hon (Term expires 5/15/2025)
  • Nathan Wyman (Term expires 5/15/2026)   
  • Garrette Brown (Term expires 5/15/2024) 
  • Karly Schieder (Term expires 5/15/2024)
  • Brian Kelley (Term expires 5/15/2025)
  • Greg Duncan (Term expires 5/15/2025)

Liberty Arts News Flash Email

If you would like to receive emails about arts events, calls for artists, local artist news and exhibits, sign up for the Liberty Arts News Flash, enter your email address and select "Liberty Arts News Flash" and any other city newsletters you would like to receive. You may unsubscribe at any time.

Make Music Day

Each year the Liberty Arts Commission hosts Make Music Liberty on June 21 as a part of the international Make Music Day event. Make Music Day is held in more than 1,000 cities around the world on June 21, the Summer Solstice. Starting in 1982 in France as the Fête de la Musique, it is now held on the same day in more than 700 cities in 120 countries. Forty years ago, the Fête de la Musique crossed the Atlantic with the debut of Make Music New York. 

This is a free, live musical celebration for all ages, all genres of music and all levels of musical ability. Throughout the day, you may hear music being performed on sidewalks, residential porches, the steps of churches, parking lots, in one of Liberty’s city parks or at a public place of business that has volunteered to be a host venue. 

For more information or to sign up as a host venue and/or performer »